Courage is Contagious

The most bad-ass people on the planet...

The story of this Navy SEAL is bonkers and probably the most bad-ass thing I have ever encountered.

I was pretty much in tears but also ready to run through a brick wall after listening to it.

While I feel very unaccomplished and like a complete loser compared to these savages, it inspired me to share their story.

Mike Thornton (left) & Tommy Norris (right) - two of the coolest guys to ever live

This is who I want to be when I grow up, if I’m not already grown up.

Medal of Honor: Stories of Courage

Remember when I wrote about my Top 10 favorite podcasts? Well, I missed one.

It’s brand new and I found it after my good friend and Shadow Lion co-founder, Ben “BIG DAWG” Rawitz, shared it with me the other day. JK no one calls him “BIG DAWG”, but I might start.

The podcast is called, Medal of Honor: Stories of Courage hosted by Malcolm Gladwell, a famous historian and author, and the show is a MUST-LISTEN.

Here is actual the description of the show:

The Medal of Honor is the United States’ highest military award. It is given for bravery in combat that goes far above and beyond the call of duty – those acts of heroism and courage that save lives despite impossible risk.

This podcast is about those heroes. What they did. What it meant. And what their stories tell us about the nature of sacrifice – and about ourselves.

In our first season, you’ll hear stories about Medal of Honor recipients from the Civil War to the Iraq War. We’ll think about what makes a hero, why people put their lives in danger for others, the true nature of sacrifice, and what happens after you’ve become a hero.

Medal of Honor: Stories of Courage

The first episode just recently launched, the same episode that hooked me.

There is no way in hell I give this heroic story/episode justice by breaking it down properly in this blog post, but I’ll highlight the key main points below.

The Story of Tommy Norris and Mike Thornton

Tommy (left), Mike (right)

Again, my written summary of the story will not do this heroism justice, here’s the link if you want to listen.

During the Vietnam War in October, 1972 Navy SEAL Tommy Norris and Mike Thornton embarked on a mission deep within enemy territory with three additional team members from South Vietnam. They were facing overwhelming odds and got into trouble with intense gun fire deep in enemy lines in North Vietnam.

They were quickly outnumbered 20-1 with over 100 North Vietnam soldiers compared to their small unit of five guys.

They spent hours, and I mean HOURS fighting off the other side. They used creatives tactics with their weapons to give the illusion there were more than just five of them.

After retreating for several hours, Mike and Tommy got split up.

One of the South Vietnam team members communicated to Mike that Tommy was dead.

He explained that Tommy had been shot many times, including a bullet that went through his head and took out his eye, and he was completely unconscious.

Despite Mike and the rest of the crew potentially being in the clear to somehow escaped the attack and be rescued, Mike refused to leave his Navy SEAL comrade behind.

He ran back into the oncoming ambush full of enemy bullets, found Tommy’s body and through him over his shoulders.

As they were running down the beach, an explosion blew them both over and Tommy’s body went flying.

As host Malcolm Gladwell put it, “if he wasn’t dead now, he sure was now”.

The main reason Mike Thornton says he went back to save Tommy, was due to the fact Tommy did the same thing saving two pilots in similar fashion just a few years ago.

Tommy’s courageous act, inspired Mike to do the same.

Mike had a way to go before he was in the clear. They were forced into the water searching for US rescue boats. They had to take on waves and tread water for several more hours. While Mike held Tommy’s body above the water with Mike also suffering from several injuries.

It was in this moment, Mike noticed life from Tommy. He heard him whisper, “Mike, buddy”.

Tommy was alive, for now, and that gave Mike hope to keep pushing and look for help.

Finally, a US rescue boat found them, after all the rest had turned around and given up on the mission. This one boat still had hope and followed the same mentality as these SEALs, “never leave a man behind”.

They got Tommy onto the boats and rushed him home to see doctors.

The doctors had little hope in saving Tommy’s life, but they said he refused to give up. Just like his teammate Mike that day in Vietnam.

There is an unbreakable bond amongst SEALs and that was put to the ultimate test that day in Vietnam.

Both Mike Thornton and Tommy Norris are alive to this day. The true meaning of living legends.

They were both awarded the Medal of Honor, the U.S. military's highest decoration. Tommy for his rescue of those pilots years prior, and Mike for the rescue of Tommy on the beach that day.

My Two Biggest Takeaways

My first takeaway is that these guys are the most bad-ass dudes on the planet and may be the bravest souls to ever walk planet Earth.

I wish there was more glory we could give men like these than just the Medal of Honor. They deserve the world.

Secondly

Listening to stories of courage influences yourself to want to participate in more courageous acts.

Courage is Contagious.

The podcast host uses the example of watching someone hold a door open for a stranger, and then starting a cycle of people holding doors open for each other.

This seems absolutely true.

While I will never be as brave or heroic as Tommy Norris, Mike Thornton and the thousand others that have protected our country, I hope listening to their story can influence me to spread positivity.

And I am trying to do the same by sharing their story on my (very small) platform of Danny’s Diary.

How Can I Be More Courageous?

After I listened to this episode, I felt like very unaccomplished and honestly like a loser.

But I also felt very grateful that we have people like this in our country.

I don’t think it’s completely fair to compare ourselves to the above situation. But it got me thinking…

How can I be more “courageous” as a 27-year-old living in Boston working in sports media that likes to golf on the weekends??

I really don’t know. Seriously open to suggestions if you all have any.

Besides just being a kinder human, I wish I could do something bigger like these Navy SEALs did during the Vietnam War.

For now, my hope is the messages and lessons from this Diary moving forward can be contagious to everyone reading. It won’t nearly have the same affect these Medal of Honor recipients had on our nation but hey it’s a start.

I also shared this post with a friend yesterday and he had the idea that I should put in a charity donation link for a great cause directed to our veterans.

The Wounded Warrior Project gives back to our veterans that have been severely wounded while protecting this country. So, here’s a link if you’re interested in donating: Wounded Warrior Project - Donate.

Thanks again for stopping in today, folks!

Hope the inspiration of Mike and Tommy rubs off on you today. Even if it’s just holding open a door.

See you next week!

Love,

Danny Healey