Embrace The Suck

It's better that way...

In partnership with

NFL Football kicking off tomorrow. I repeat. NFL FOOTBALL KICKING OFF TOMORROW!

If you missed last week’s article on my 2024 NFL Betting Preview, do yourself a favor and dive in. My girlfriend will not see me until February 10th. Good-bye.

Also, in the name of football… I have been working on a really exciting project with Shadow Lion over the last few months that will go live today. Follow me on Twitter to learn more. It’s a dream project for me.

For the people here who don’t give a rat’s ass about dudes smashing their faces against each other, let’s chat.

I thought I ran dry of wicked cliche things to preach about on this Diary, but low and behold…

Happy Roman Reigns GIF by WWE

What’s today’s eye-rolling words of wisdom?

EMBRACE THE SUCK

I told you, cliche as balls.

BUT it’s fricken true! Nothing that comes easy in life is fun or rewarding.

Anything positive that happens to you in life is likely because you worked your ass for the result. It’s the most rewarding that way.

It’s the challenge that is exciting. Without a true challenge, you don’t get any better.

I can promise, getting to your ultimate goals in life will not be easy. It will actually be extremely hard.

But don’t shy away from those goals. Embrace the challenge, take on it headfirst as if you’re Ray Lewis filling the A-Gap, and go have fun with the journey.

“If it was easy, everyone would do it” - A quote every single youth sports coach used that 100% of the time made me hate them.

But Coach was damn right. Go embrace the suck.

That’s when shit gets exciting and fun. When it’s hard.

Perfect Example

In my fantasy football league with my family, I absolutely swindle my sisters in every facet of the game. Weekly trade offers, poor draft advice, waivers, whatever it is, I get the edge.

I mean I did 288 mock drafts and listened to 37 hours of fantasy football podcast content in the month of August. Those are real numbers.

Is winning this fantasy football league fun?

Well, actually now that I think about it, yes.

But no, I want the big dogs. If anyone has Jerry O’Connell’s phone number, please reply to this email as I’m ready for his high-roller fantasy league.

Here’s a better example.

Writing the Morning Blitz newsletter for 3.5 years in a row without missing a single day objectively sucked major ass.

The very long nights and short sleeps due loads of other work and responsibilities were not fun

Like super brutal.

Absolutely the most rewarding thing I’ve ever done in my life though as it led me to some of my most exciting opportunities that are paying off today in the workplace, personal relationships and knowledge.

And when you can embrace the suck with a team, that’s when it gets really fun.

Nothing like getting in the foxhole with your boys and just going to work.

Maybe that foxhole is writing a sports newsletter.

Maybe that foxhole is building a company.

Maybe that foxhole is a 30-rack of Bud Light that just needs to be finished.

No matter the challenge, find a team and embrace the suck together.

The result of sticking to the grind and getting to the break-through moment will be the coolest f****** feeling in the world.

That’s all she wrote! Happy Football.

Lock of the night in KC vs. BAL: Under 46.5 Total Points.

You’re welcome and see you next week!

Oh, one last thing, check out one of my favorite newsletters below:

For Those Who Seek Unbiased News.

Be informed with 1440! Join 3.5 million readers who enjoy our daily, factual news updates. We compile insights from over 100 sources, offering a comprehensive look at politics, global events, business, and culture in just 5 minutes. Free from bias and political spin, get your news straight.